

Long Beach, CA 90802-4210

www.calstate.edu

Steve Relyea Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer

> 562-951-4600 srelyea@calstate.edu

Information Item Only

DATE: July 2, 2021

TO: **CSU Presidents** 

FROM: Steve Relyea Steven Relyea (Jy. 2, 2021 12:58 PDT)

**Executive Vice Chancellor and** 

Chief Financial Officer

**SUMMARY**: California Attorney General's Expansion of Banned Travel States

**AFFECTED GROUPS**: Faculty, Staff, Students

On June 2, 2021 Attorney General Robert Bonta announced that five new states would be added to the list of banned travel states. The effective date of this ban varies by state. Please see the link below for the full press release.

## June 2021 OAG Announcement

Questions about this memo may be directed to Dawn Theodora, Assistant Vice Chancellor and Chief Counsel – Business and Finance at dtheodora@calstate.edu or Assistant Vice Chancellor and Controller Mary Ek at mek@calstate.edu.

Joseph I. Castro, Chancellor, Chancellor's Office Chief Administration and Business Officers

Andrew Jones, Executive Vice Chancellor and General Counsel, Chancellor's Office Fred Wood, Interim Executive Vice Chancellor, Academic and Student Affairs, Chancellor's Office

Vlad Marinescu, Vice Chancellor and Chief Audit Officer, Chancellor's Office Evelyn Nazario, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources, Chancellor's Office Larry Salinas, Vice Chancellor, University Relations and Advancement, Chancellor's Office

CSU Presidents June 29, 2021 Page 2

The following states are currently subject to California's ban on state-funded and state-sponsored travel:

- 1. Alabama
- 2. Kansas
- 3. Kentucky
- 4. Mississippi
- 5. North Carolina
- 6. South Dakota
- 7. Tennessee
- 8. Texas
- 9. Oklahoma
- 10. South Carolina
- 11. lowa
- 12. Idaho
- 13. Florida (as of July 1, 2021)
- 14. Montana (as of July 1, 2021)
- 15. West Virginia (as of July 8, 2021)
- 16. Arkansas, (as of July 29, 2021)
- 17. North Dakota (as of August 1, 2021)